DEC. 4-17, 2013 DEC. 6-17, 2013 DEC. 6-17, 2013

DTCI celebrates its 20th annual conference at Blue Chip Casino

Defense attorneys gathered from every corner of Indiana to attend the 20th Annual Conference & Meeting at the Blue Chip Casino in Michigan City on Nov. 21-22.



Karen Withers, co-recipient of the Defense Lawyer of the Year, and President Jerry Huelat



Enrique Bonugli from Biodynamic Research Corp. (BRC) speaks on low-impact vehicle crashes.



Bob Parker (left) with Indiana Court of Appeals Judge Melissa May and her husband Mike.



DTCI officers (from left) Past President Lonnie Johnson, 2013 Secretary Jim Hehner, President Jerry Huelat, President Elect Jim Johnson, 2014 Secretary Michele Bryant, Vice President Tom Hays.



Dr. Tim King speaks on Pain Management.



The Marys: Mary Watts (left) and past president Mary Reeder.



Vice President Tom Hays (left) and Tom Schultz, DRI North Central Director, congratulate John Trimble.



Board member Dave DeMoss (left) and DTCI Secretary Jim Hehner with DTCI member Tara Lutes.



Scott Kyrouac, (left) Indiana Representative to DRI, presents the DRI Exceptional Performance Award to President Jerry Huelat.

Congratulations To 2014 Board Of Directors

Members of the DTCI elected their new officers and directors at the annual meeting held Nov. 21-22 in Michigan City. They will take office Jan. 1.

Jim Johnson of Rudolph Fine Porter & Johnson in Evansville was installed as president. Tom Hays of Lewis Wagner in Indianapolis was chosen president-elect; Jim Hehner of Hehner & Assocs. in Indianapolis was elected vice-president; Michele Bryant of Kahn Dees Donovan & Kahn was tapped to be secretary, and the new treasurer is Rob Thornburg of Frost Brown Todd in Indianapolis. Jerry Huelat of Huelat Mack & Kreppein continues on the board as immediate past president

Joining these officers on the board are **David DeMoss** (State Farm Litigation Counsel), **Marian Drenth** (O'Neill McFadden & Willett), **Greg Freyberger** (Kahn Dees Donovan & Kahn), **Phil Kalamaros** (Hunt Suedhoff Kalamaros), **Curtis Greene** (Barnes & Thornburg), **Christopher Lee** (Kahn Dees Donovan & Kahn), **Jason Massaro** (The Massaro Legal Group), **Kori McOmber** (Schultz & Pogue), **Renee Mortimer** (Hinshaw & Culbertson), **Libby Valos Moss** (Kightlinger & Gray), **Jaime Oss** (Michigan City), **Don Smith** (Riley Bennett & Egloff), **Jim Strenski** (Cantrell Strenski & Mehringer), **Stacy Forster Thompson** (Clendening Johnson & Bohrer) and **Kevin Tyra** (Tyra Law Firm).

Michael Knight (Nationwide Mutual Insurance Co.) will chair the Young Lawyers Section, and **Scott Kyrouac** (Wilkinson Goeller Modesitt Wilkinson & Drummy) will continue as Indiana Representative to DRI.

DTCI Excellence in Civil Litigation DEFENSE TRIAL COUNSEL OF INDIANA

The information in this advertorial was provided by Defense Trial Counsel of Indiana members and staff. Opinions expressed are those of the association.

DTCI members gather for annual conference



John C. Trimble (left) and Robert F. Parker, 2013 Diplomats of the Indiana Defense Trial Counsel



Indiana Court of Appeals Judge Melissa May and law clerk Tom Newby speak on More Effective Writing.



President Jerry Huelat and DTCI members greet Indiana Court of Appeals Chief Judge Margret Robb (right).



Husband Todd Crocket congratulates DTCI Outstanding Young Lawyer Crystal Wildeman.



Rob Lime (left) of Stewart & Richardson, with Frost Brown Todd attorneys Vanessa Davis, Tim Karns and Matt King.



with husband Mike Dollens.

Lucy Dollens, co-recipient of Defense Lawyer of the Year,

Board member Jim Strenski with members Tara Lutes and Anna Mallon (right).



Quintin Mason (BRC), Nick & Tracy Pappas, and Tom Schultz.



CALENDAR Dec. 9

Worker's Comp Section Meeting Kightlinger & Gray, Indianapolis 11:30 a.m.



North Central Region Trial Academy Merrillville

> Oct. 22-26 DRI Annual Meeting San Francisco

Nov. 20-21 DTCI Annual Conference & Meeting French Lick

For details about any of these events, please call the association offices at 317-580-1233 or email **Imortier@dtci.org.** For the latest changes, notices, and additions, check the events calendar on the DTCI homepage at **www.dtci.org**

Officers & Directors

Officers

President Jerry E. Huelat, Michigan City **President-Elect** James D. Johnson, Evansville **Vice-President** Thomas C. Hays, Indianapolis Secretary James W. Hehner, Indianapolis Treasurer Michele S. Bryant, Evansville **Immediate Past President** Lonnie D. Johnson, Bloomington **Directors** David A. DeMoss, Indianapolis Marian C. Drenth, Dyer Gregory J. Freyberger, Evansville J. Curtis Greene, Indianapolis Philip E. Kalamaros, St. Joseph MI

Christopher D. Lee, Evansville Kori L. McOmber, Indianapolis Renee Mortimer, Schererville Libby Valos Moss, Indianapolis Donald S. Smith, Indianapolis James P. Strenski, Indianapolis Stacy Forster Thompson, Bloomington Robert B. Thornburg, Indianapolis John P. Twohy, Hammond

Kevin C. Tyra, Indianapolis DRI Representative

Scott M. Kyrouac, Terre Haute

Executive Director Lisa Mortier 9505 Copley Drive Indianapolis IN 46260 317-580-1233 Fax 580-1235 Imortier@dtci.org

Director of Publications Molly Terry mterry@dtci.org